Yo, Joe!

Went to the premiere of “Welcome Home Roscoe Jenkins.” I have to say that I honestly wasn’t expecting much from the movie, but it delivered. It’s one of the funnier movies I’ve seen in a while, and I’m happy to report that Martin Lawrence is back in form.

At the premiere I was able to catch up with Rachel Nichols. I loved, loved, loved her in the final season of “Alias.” When I met her about a year and a half ago, I was so happy to find that she was a fantastic person. She’s super nice and just all around fun. I know what you’re saying, “Everyone you’ve written about is ‘super nice’ and all that.” Well, that’s true. See, I only write about the great ones I’ve meet in a town full of the vapid and self-important. I mean, why write about the others, unless you’re trying to make a point about a certain cheerleader? :)

Through catching up, I asked Rachel about her upcoming project, “G.I. Joe.” There was quite a stir when she landed the role of Shana “Scarlett” O’ Hara. Questions abounded about whether she would be able to pull off the kicks and physicality associated with the role? Apparently, these disbelievers didn’t see Rachel on “Alias.” She can pull it off, and then some. Rachel said that there’s nothing much to say about the project since they are still in pre-production. She did say that she’s been working out like mad and that they are slated to begin principal photography at the end of February. They are shooting mostly here in the LA area (one would think at studio sound stages), but also in Prague. I can only imagine what sort of story line would bring them to Prague. She’s already donned the trademark red tresses as seen here:
dsc03517ab.jpg

Ok, I’m biased, but I couldn’t stop laughing when she told my friend, “I’m actually a blonde. Don’t hold it against me.” Perhaps it was the gin and tonic. Perhaps it was ’cause I was a bit giddy since I hadn’t seen her in a while. Anyhow, look for G.I. Joe for a Summer 2009 release. Now you know, and knowing is half the battle.

~ by Francis Orante on January 29, 2008.

2 Responses to “Yo, Joe!”

  1. Roscoe Jenkins? Really?
    You’re dead to me.

  2. Yeah GI JOE!!! Did you hear who landed DUKE? OH YEAH baby its Channing!!!

    http://www.hollywoodreporter.com/hr/content_display/film/news/e3i29ce7ca58f3334d0ceb207c86424118f

Leave a Reply

 
