Movie Marketing

Studios are getting more and more clever with the marketing of their movies. I’m sure it didn’t start with this, but I can’t help but remember the viral marketing campaign for “The Blair Witch Project.” The online marketing, the buzz created with convincing people that the movie was a real video. Genius. When “Blair Witch” came out in severely limited release, I remember trucking on down to watch it. As a matter of fact, gaggles of people lined up just to see what this movie was all about. People were freaked out, people were disappointed, people got dizzy and even threw up in the theatre. I don’t know if success like this will ever be replicated again, but the studios sure are trying. Warner Brothers, for example, went viral recently with their promotion of “The Dark Knight.” People had to follow clues around town which included posters, faux newspapers, etc. The scavenger hunt, if you will, culminated here in LA at a theatre where participants were treated to advance footage from the film.

All of this thought was spurred on by seeing a model posing as a mannequin. She (as it turns out two shes) was wearing a dress which was exactly like the one-sheet for the new Katherine Heigl movie, “27 dresses.” As a matter of fact, the model was re-creating the one sheet, down to the look on Katherine’s face. It was funny watching people gawking at the models – trying to make them laugh, talk, or just respond somehow. I didn’t want to be “that guy” and take a picture of this. I mean, seriously I wasn’t going to say, “I’m going to take a picture of you modeling and use it for my blog. You should check it out.” I had to show you all a visual, so I enlisted the services of one of my co-workers, Pat. We decided to recreate the scene, sort of like those crime shows. So here’s the disclaimer: “This is just a reenactment of the events of Thursday night. The identity of persons involved have been changed to protect them.”

img_0756.jpg

Now looking at this picture, imagine thousands of people walking in and seeing this scene right in front of them. Coming up closer to examine the model, one would see that the dress she was wearing was, again, a replica of what was on the one sheet. You’d know that this movie was from the writer of “Devil Wears Prada,” you’d know that Katherine Heigl was in it, and it’s hard to miss the film title. I know what you’re thinking, “This isn’t viral. This isn’t even especially creative.” Oh really? You don’t exactly see this every day. You might see a street performer playing as a statue or something, sure. Does that street performer have a dress on promoting a movie? It worked by the way. There was a sneak preview of “27 dresses” that night which sold out way ahead of time. I don’t know many people that knew about the sneak. I actually just saw an advert for it before I left for work.

I don’t know about you, but I’m looking forward to what campaign they come up with next.

~ by Francis Orante on December 29, 2007.

2 Responses to “Movie Marketing”

  1. Pat would look great in that dress!

  2. Weird people. You are my “bosses”. Ha!

Leave a Reply

 
