Don’t ever do this.

I’m at work today. Guest says to me that he is being denied admittance… blah, blah, blah. Meat of the story is that he talks to me to try and get in and he pulls the ever so wonderful, “Do you know who I am?” Yes. He totally did. Funny thing was I sort of did know who he was, but did he really think that was going to work? Here’s how it went down:

Random Dude: “They’re saying I’m late and that I can’t go in. I really need to go in and I know that you can do something about it.”

Me: “Unfortunately, I can’t help you getting in. I’d be glad to get you into a different show or get you a refund.”

Random Dude: “Are you freaking kidding me? Do you know who I am?”

Me: “Sir, it wouldn’t matter who you are, unfortunately I’ll only be able to help you get into another show or get a refund.”

RD proceeds to bitch to his gal pal about how this is ridiculous and how he’s telling EVERYONE HE KNOWS not to come here ever again. All I could think of when he was on his mini-rant was saying to him, “Yes, I do know who you are. You had a bit part in ONE episode of a TV show and only someone like me would EVER even remember that. Now you’re doing burger joint commercials. Did you actually think your massively impressive resume was going to somehow sway my decision? Honestly?” Of course, I couldn’t go there, but man was I tempted. At least the thought brought a little sunshine into my otherwise rainy (literally and figuratively) day.

Next time you find yourself in a difficult situation where customer service of any kind is involved, try being nice. People will have a tendency of actually helping rather than blasting you and making you a cautionary tale on the internet.  Oh, and if you ever feel the need to drop the “Do you know who I am” bomb on someone, think about whether or not said person would actually give a shit about that.  :)

~ by Francis Orante on December 18, 2007.

One Response to “Don’t ever do this.”

  1. When I come visit you…I am totally going to say that at the door….haha! :) just kidding

Leave a Reply

 
